h1

Firefighters group sex scandal exposed

February 15, 2010

A culture of homosexual group sex has been exposed with recent allegations of ‘sexual abuse’ by some retired fire fighters against their colleagues. These allegations have given rise to a debate on the nature of consent within group sex between men. Some sources have jumped to immediate conclusions on the matter, blaring headlines such as “Brutal Abuse Exposed” (Cover of The Sunday Telegraph, Sunday 14th February). However the issue is far more complicated than that.

We need to take into consideration several important points before we make such spurious judgment on the nature of this so called ‘abuse’.

One, it is a well known fact that groups of men in dangerous occupations tend to have sex with each other. The men making claims of abuse, knowingly and willing entered into a hazardous occupation which was, and still is, male dominated. What did they think was going to happen? Cup cakes and Kumbayah? No, these men knew full well the nature of other men and they willingly entered into an environment where they knew there was a risk of sex. Haven’t they seen the sexy calenders that firefighters produce for gay men?

Two, after the so-called ‘abuse’ all three men chose to stay within their career as firefighters. None of them reported the ‘abuse’ to the police until many years later. Obviously these men were ambivalent about whether or not this actually was abuse. Surely, if the group sex had been unwelcome, they would have left their positions and reported the crime to authorities.

Three, none of the men indicated that the group sex was unwelcome until years later. They report passively accepting the ‘abuse’, none of them claim to have asked the accused to stop, nor did they indicate that they had struggled in any way. It is difficult to believe that the advances of the accused were unwelcome when no indication was made on the part of the ‘victim’ to resist.

It is obvious that these men invited group sex when they joined the fire brigade. They did not leave their employment when the group sex started. And there is no indication that they did not consent to the so-called abuse. The case against the accused is very thin. It is difficult to understand how headlines like: “Brutal Abuse Exposed” could possibly by justified.

What this incident does indicate is that internalised homophobia and a desire for monetary compensation has driven some men to deny their natural inclinations for, and enjoyment of, all-male group sex. We need to change the culture of male-dominated, dangerous occupations so that men can indulge in group orgies with other men and not feel ashamed by their natural desires. This recent scandal has exposed the shocking truth of our society’s intolerance of the natural male sex drive. We need to accept and support men who need a good group fuck before fighting fires, crime, war etc. Headlines like the one published in The Sunday Telegraph are inflammatory and ignore the realities of what men need. If you want to support our firies in their life-saving efforts, embrace the fact of all-male group sex. It is a necessary, natural, team-bonding experience that makes men, men, and gives them the impetus to keep risking their lives, day after day.

*DISCLAIMER: I do not believe a single word of what I wrote above. I was just so angry with the way that this issue was reported in contrast to the way that the gang rape of women by footballers was reported. In my opinion, they are exactly the same; in fact the women raped by footballers suffered far more than the fire fighters did in this recent sexual abuse case. Why is it that women getting gang-raped by footballers is reported as a ‘sex scandal’ but when something similar happens to a man it is ‘horrific abuse’? Yes, what these firefighters suffered was horrific abuse. It is inexcusable. It is a crime. It should never, ever happen to anyone, ever. SAME WITH THE GANG RAPE OF WOMEN BY FOOTBALLERS!!!!! And yet the above was exactly the way that the media handled the gang rape of Clare… and so many other women who have been deeply scarred by their horrific experiences at the hands of rapist football players.*

22 comments

  1. so bloody true!


  2. More bad news:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8515592.stm


  3. Some men just like all-male group sex, and anyone to argues that abuse isn’t the same as sex is a prude!!

    (do I need a disclaimer also?)

    The disparity is so apparent, no one would consider making the arguments that you made seriously about these men, yet those arguments and similar are made to excuse, deny and belittle the reports women make about rape and assault.


  4. Thanks Erin. I am pretty sure I went a bit too far in writing this… but reading that report just made me so angry. Why do men get believed immediately when they accuse other men of sexual abuse… yet when it happens to a woman they talk about consent? It makes me so angry.


  5. OMg Allecto, when I started reading this post I though tto myself, ‘Gosh, I disagree with Allecto’ and then after reading the disclaimer I got all happy.
    I agree with you 100%. The law will never be on the women’s side until and unless we destroy mankind.
    Women will be so happy once that happens. This world will be such a wonderful place.


  6. I GUESSED THE ENDING! I am so proud. I kept reading and reading and was starting to think, “No, this isn’t her, come on, no, this is just like what they always do to US…oh, wait a minute, the irony, she is playing….”

    EXCELLENT (sorry, I know caps are yelling, but, really, you have me pretty much yelling here for real).

    Nice work, Allecto. I don’t think you went too far. No way in HELL. They’ve been going too far on us forEVER – all you did was flip it and nothing more. Good for you.

    P.S. My husband was in the military for 23 years and has always been extremely bisexual or, I guess, bi-curious. I have always wondered if a certain group of men is disproportionately attracted to these oh-so macho careers.


  7. You’re my shero.


  8. I posted a comment here that I would like to apologise for. Sorry and thanks for taking it down.


  9. Thanks Jo, NOLA and berry, glad you gyns got the point.

    NOLA, I do actually believe that all men are gay. Not that an analysis of homoerotic male culture is what I was aiming for here… but the reason that men engage in gang-rape is because they love and desire other men, even when they are gang raping women. In this instance the new recruits were stand in women, feminised men that could be victimised as a form of homoerotic team bonding. Same as the gangs of football players who line up and rape women. The woman does not exist. She is only there to serve as a conduit for men’s passion for each other.

    I wrote more about this in my football post: https://allecto.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/football-players-are-gang-rapists/

    Mooby, no one has ever apologised for leaving a comment on my blog before. And yours wasn’t even all that insulting. Thanks, much appreciated.


  10. “I do actually believe that all men are gay. Not that an analysis of homoerotic male culture is what I was aiming for here… but the reason that men engage in gang-rape is because they love and desire other men, even when they are gang raping women. In this instance the new recruits were stand in women, feminised men that could be victimised as a form of homoerotic team bonding. Same as the gangs of football players who line up and rape women. The woman does not exist. She is only there to serve as a conduit for men’s passion for each other.”
    Great post, Allecto and very insightful comment above.


  11. Absolutely brilliant!

    Thank you.

    — a white gayboy named Julian


  12. A-Mazing Amazonian post allecto *hugs*


  13. Thanks zeph, Julian and Rain!


  14. I was going to disagree until I read your disclaimer. I can’t BELIEVE that the football player gang rape was refered to as a sex scandal! That is so disrespectful. They make it sound like a tabloid.(tabloids are also garbage, haha)

    But gosh….


  15. I gotta admit, I didn’t need the disclaimer.
    Maybe it’s because everytime I go through the paper and see the way women are written, I had kept thinking about what it would look like if it were men.
    You never dissapoint, Allecto.
    Love your work *hugs*


  16. Thanks Emzy! You are too sweet.


  17. I don’t think you went too far at all! Hilarious/brilliant. Definitely exposes male perspectives on rape. I don’t wish there was more male-male sexual abuse but I wish there were more opportunities to expose their attitudes. But culture is so one-sided that it’s hard to find the chance!

    Well done.


  18. This is great allecto, the double standard is really fucked up. Men claims will always get taken seriously, they can never be “asking for it”.


  19. Everything radical feminists believe about men is true 99% of the time. This is coming from a male who has heard other males talk about women behind closed doors as nothing more than an object to be utilized. I guess I’m lucky that I never really understood it, but the pressure to conform and join in is enormous. I have always mostly been attracted to women and I saw sex as a naturally evolving act that comes from a close bond unique from family or other social ties. It came to pass that most people I met didn’t seem to truly share that view. So now sex for me personally has become a confusing and painful subject to consider due to the misconceptions and degradation ascribed to it by mainstream culture. It is too personal a thing to be abused physically and metaphorically the way it commonly is by the mainstream. I decided to be celibate about 4 years ago after my partner and I who had been together for 5 years stopped being together. We’d gotten married and that seemed to drive us apart. Seriously. Anyway, there wasn’t anyone I wanted to share that intimacy with around anymore, and I no longer had the desire to go through the process to achieve it, so I gave it up. I think my life is still just as full and meaningful as anyone else though. Sex is important but it is not a defining factor of one’s personality. At least it shouldn’t be. Unfortunately in many cases it has been forced and twisted into the mess that we see out there today.

    I don’t want to sound egotistical, but I think if more men felt the way I do about sexual relations then a lot of these problems would disappear. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not a prude and have no problem with real expressions of love or close bonding of some sort, but sex has been monetized and cheapened so badly that it almost sickens me to think about it in a general sense. I do miss the intimacy and to a somewhat lesser extent the physical sensations associated with it (I am fully celibate) but this feels like the best course of action.

    Anyway, I don’t know why I felt like sharing all of that. Sorry if it was offensive/boring/weird/etc. or if I used odd terms (hard to explain certain things in a word) but I thought maybe the insight would be useful to someone else out there.


  20. Yes, well double standards are everywhere. I don’t think anyone can blame you for getting pissed off.

    As you said before, women are raped all the time, and so are men but they are less likely to report it because of the macho culture we live in.

    So when a man does admit to being a victim of sexual assault the media makes a big deal about it because it is supposedly “rare.” While sexual assaults against women become an expected norm that gets brushed aside.


  21. You write exactly what I’ve been saying for a very long while because if we take male supremacist women-blaming to its logical conclusion then men must be held accountable and responsible for not ensuring their own safety and well-being.

    After all men who ‘allow’ (sic) other men to sexually assault only have themselves to blame because the male victim(s) doubtless was/were wearing provocative clothing and/or his/their behaviour was sexually provocative to the male assailant(s).

    After all it is not society’s responsibility to prevent male sexual violence rather it is each individual’s (sic) responsibility to ensure they never ever put themselves at risk of sexual violence!

    Now I wonder why these male victims did not immediately report said male sexual violence to the police? Was it because these men are innate liars perhaps? Or did these men eventually report alleged male sexual assaults because these males were hoping to gain financially. After all men are innate liars are they not?

    Note: all of the above is commonly used to discredit any woman or girl who courageously charges a male with raping her and/or subjecting her to sexual violence.

    But male supremacy has never ever been logical rather it engages in duplicity wherein women are always lied to because male domination over women must never ever be challenged.


  22. […] version of this post was published here in February 2010 in response to the misogynist media portayal of the high incidents of football […]



Leave a Reply

