h1

Reading, reading

June 29, 2008

In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens: Womanist Prose by Alice Walker

Really fantastic book. Definite recommendation. I love Walker’s writing.

Moment of Desire: Sex and Sensuality by Australian Feminist Writers edited by Susan Hawthorne and Jenny Pausacker

Not a big fan of this though I do think it was/is a good idea. The writing isn’t all that great and the short stories don’t make much sense to me. Haven’t been able to finish it.

Hope Bay by Nicole Pluss

I really loved this book. Beautifully written. About a girl called Possum and her friendship with an older woman who feeds dolphins. Definite ecofeminist philosophy underpins the feeling and depth of the book.

Betsey Brown by Ntozake Shange

I wish Ntozake Shange was easier to get hold of. I desperately want to read more of her work. I really enjoyed this book. Centres meaningfully on relationships between women and girls. Skillful writing. Took me back to the days when I lived in a crowded household.

Surpassing the Love of Men by Lillian Faderman

Hah! I love this book. Lillian Faderman rocks!!! An indepth look at the rich history of love between women.

Zami: Towards a New Spelling of my Name by Audre Lorde

It is written by Audre Lorde, the greatest poet ever, need I say more?

Spider Woman’s Granddaughters edited by Paula Gunn Allen

This book is gorgeous. Worth reading for the Introduction alone. Paula Gunn Allen was an incredible woman.

The Naming (also published as The Gift) by Alison Croggon

These three books are part of the Pellinor series. They are a fantasy series, heavily influenced by Lord of the Rings but with less misogyny. I really like the lead female character and there are lots of black and multiracial characters and lots of strong, powerful women. The lead female character is multiracial. BUT there is some disturbing father-figure/daughter-figure romanciness implied in the second book which is gross and disgusting. I’m hoping that things don’t get worse in the fourth book which is coming out this year.

The Stone Key by Isobelle Carmody

The fifth book of the Obernewtyn Series. It is really good. I read it in less than two days and it is a BIG book!

4 comments

  1. I really like the look of Hope Bay, sounds right up by street.

    Audre Lorde and Paula Gunn Allen, two women I have never read but keep meaning to – thanks for reminding me Allecto, I’ll have to see if I can find these books, and thanks for the recommendations – I love hearing about what books people are reading. xxx


  2. I love reading. And I’m not too into writing at the moment. This was kind of a blog filler. I am so slack.😦


  3. Your blog is fantastic, Allecto, whether you update once a day or once a year – I love it here, it feel a little like home. xx


  4. Thanks for the recommendations🙂 It’s great being introduced to writers you’ve not come across before.



Leave a Reply

