h1

FemSpeak

April 3, 2008

silence.jpg

I have just been invited to take over the administration of an internet forum called Women’s Lives Matter and Women’s Life Matters. It is part of a larger website called FemSpeak which you can find out more about here.

FemSpeak arose out of many sessions of ‘girl-talk’ in suburban kitchens and laundries, neighbourhood barbies, PTA meetings, kaffee-klatsches, gyms, tennis and netball courts, as well as the odd play-group, dyke bar and office staff-room.

When the dreaded F-Word – Feminism – came up, it’s often met with claims of boring, ‘too serious’ too cliquey, and basically not much fun, with little relevance to many women’s lives. On the subject of women’s magazines, websites etc, similar claims were made ranging from too frivolous, to too boring. Despite the large numbers of women’s websites, e-zines etc, for the young & hot to the post-menopausal invisibles, we thought there was still room for another, one that put the F-Words – Fun & Friendship – into Feminism.

Another common theme of our ‘girl-talk’ sessions was that feminism had become too distant from women’s daily lives, full of academic theory and vague “issues” fragmented into cliques of ‘in-crowds’ constantly thrashing each other, reminding some of us of our school days. You know – like where the girls all separate into lots of closed little social circles, and nearly all of us felt excluded from the “popular girls” set?

Sound good to you? Sounds bloody brilliant to me.

The website stopped being updated in 2004 and as far as I can tell the forum never got off the ground. The woman who set up the forum does not have the time to moderate or build the community. Which explains why I have been given the honour of taking on the project.

After Heart’s forums were hacked I have been feeling like we really need to reclaim some private space on the internet. Our blogs are important. They give us a voice, but unfortunately our blogs are public and I know I often have reservations in blogging my true feelings as my words are manipulated, misrepresented or misunderstood as happened in the recent Joss Whedon debacle.

So, I’m inviting all of the wonderful women who read here, to come on over and register on the forum. Because women’s lives matter, because women’s life matters.

5 comments

  1. This sounds brilliant Allecto, really exciting – I’m on my way to register now! And well done! 😀 xx


  2. I know I’m really, really excited. I’ve never done anything this scary before. I hope I’m up to the challenge.


  3. ‘Course you are! 🙂


  4. I signed up!


  5. I’m there. 😀



Leave a Reply

